PJ 12/6/16

The standards I was able to practice were:

  1. understand that the graph of an equation in two variables in the set of all its solutions plotted in the coordinate plane.
  2. Solve a problem using a linear function of best fit.

 

Slope- intercept equation from graph

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/algebra-home/alg-linear-eq-func/alg-writing-slope-intercept-equations/e/slope-intercept-equation-from-graph

Using this exercise I was able to practice writing an y=mx+b styled equation using the graph provided. In the beginning, I did have some minimal trouble remembering what numbers I need to put in the equation. Using the hints provided I was able to learn again what was needed and then successfully complete the task earning 325 energy points for my account.

Slope-intercept equation from slope and point

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/algebra-home/alg-linear-eq-func/alg-writing-slope-intercept-equations/v/equation-of-a-line-1

Watching this video I was able to learn the basics and new information about writing slope-intercept equations using the slope and points of a line.

y=mx+b

m(slope)        b(y-intercept)

m=rise/run     b= where the line intercepts the y-axis….(ex. 0,b)

y=m * 0 + b

y=rise / run = y2-y1 / x2-x1

Review:

Finding Slope-intercept equation from features or graph

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/algebra-home/alg-linear-eq-func/alg-writing-slope-intercept-equations/a/slope-intercept-form-review

Example 1: Equation from slope and intercept

Suppose we want to find the equation of the line whose slope is (-1) and y-intercept is (0,5).Well, we simply plug  m=-1 & b=5 into the slope-intercept form!

y=-1x+5

Example 2: Equation from two points

Suppose we want to find the line that passes through the points (0,-4) and (3,-1).First, we notice that (0,-4) is the y-intercept. Second, we use the two points to find the slope:

Slope =1(4) / 30
=3 / 3
=1
Now we can write the equation in slope-intercept:
y= 1x-4
When reviewing all the notes and participating in the practices, I feel I was able to recover all the stored information that has been in the back of my memory. Which is good since this is what I have to do for my final product.

 

Today I was able to work on the outline of my final product. The only issue I had an encounter with was standard two. I was getting myself confused. It says I need to find m, which is the slope. And when I do, I come to the realization that I already found the slope (m). So do I use the already found value or the newer one?????

Three minutes later…okay so one of the teachers answered my question. Because I am using different points, then you find a new slope.

Now all I have to do is finish figuring out the math, then start working on the product itself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

