1/12/17 And so it begins…

To start of the class I personally went on khan academy and began practicing finding the surface area and volume for 3-D shapes.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/geometry-home/geometry-volume-surface-area/geometry-volume-rect-prism/e/volume_1

Using this source, I was able to begin my practice at finding the volume of a 3-D shape. The goal was to get 5 in a row correct, but because I got the first one correct, I able to advance to the next task and earned myself 175 energy points in the process.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/geometry-home/geometry-volume-surface-area/geometry-volume-rect-prism/a/volume-formula-intuition

The second task was a bit more challenging but I was able to get going on a good start. The goal of the exercise was to practice problems that help you see why the volume formula makes sense (with the help of the models presented). Even though this exercise didn’t earn my account energy points, I was still motivated to get the answers correct. Four  problems were given and I was able to get three of the four problems correct. It would have been all four but I miss counted the amount of cubes in one layer by 6.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/geometry-home/geometry-volume-surface-area/geometry-volume-rect-prism/a/volume-of-rectangular-prisms-review

An overview: What I learned was…

Volume is the amount of 3-dimensional space an object occupies. Volume is measured in cubic units.

To find the volume of a rectangular prism, we multiply the length of the prism by the width of the prism by the height of the prism.
Volume of rectangular prism=length×width×height\
In this review, I was able to revisit the skills I had just learned.
Leave a Reply

