Continuing practice and other work 1/19/17

30 min. of practice

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/v/how-we-measure-volume

This source is a video explaining how to find the volume of various shapes. So it is the basics of everything volume.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/v/measuring-volume-with-unit-cubes

This next source explained how to find the volume by measuring unit cubes.

  • 3-dimensions= how tall, wide,and deep something is.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/e/volume_with_unit_cubes

Now here, I am beginning to practice finding volume.

  • Volume is measured by counting the number of cubic units.
  • Top count X #of layers=volume

When I was completing this first exercise, I had only a bit of trouble but once I used the hints provided, I understood what was needed and when I finished, I earned myself 625 energy points.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/v/measuring-volume-as-area-times-length

This source is a video that taught me another way to find volume: measuring volume as area times length.

  • length X width X height

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/e/volume_1

The goal of this practice was to find volume of a rectangular prism with labeled side lengths and find a missing side length on a rectangular prism when given the volume. I was able to complete this with a breeze while earning myself 125 energy points.

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/a/volume-formula-intuition

The goal was to practice some problems that help me see why the volume formula makes sense.

Volume formula intuition

The rectangular prism has

layers separated by color.

Each colored layer is made up of

unit cubes.

What is the volume of the rectangular prism?

cubic units

The rectangular prism has

slices separated by color.

Each colored slice is made up of

unit cubes.

What is the volume of the rectangular prism?

cubic units

 https://www.khanacademy.org/math/basic-geo/basic-geo-volume-sa/volume-rect-prism/a/volume-of-rectangular-prisms-review

Volume of rectangular prisms review

What is volume?

Volume is the amount of 3-dimensional space an object occupies. Volume is measured in cubic units.

Finding volume of a rectangular prism

To find the volume of a rectangular prism, we multiply the length of the prism by the width of the prism by the height of the prism.
VOLUME OF A RECTANGULAR PRISM=length X width X height
For the rest of class: Project work time recap
After the 30 minutes of practice were over, I continued making my 3-D shapes. Last class I was successful enough to complete a 3-D cube and find the surface area and volume. But today, I just stuck with the fun part of actually making the shapes. Today I made a 3-D triangular pyramid, a cone and a cylinder. The most difficult one to make had to be the cylinder but I got it made with the help of some tape.
Next class I hope to continue practicing and then find the surface area and volume for at least 1 or two of the shapes, or maybe even all three if I have enough time. If I am successful in that task, I suppose I could make more 3-D shapes (just to show I know a wide range of formulas for more than four shapes).
Leave a Reply

