PJ 3/8/17

To start off the class, I began working with my vocabulary group for 15 minutes. I think I did pretty well today and will be prepared for when the test comes in two weeks.

For the remaining 15 minutes of practice, I went on learning odyssey and learned about Act 2, Scene 2 of Romeo and Juliet. It helped me understand how to decipher the text and find the main ideas. Which helps me practice my standards: Provide a sufficiently complex summary to address key plot points and thematic development and analyze the cumulative impact of specific word choices and figurative language figurative language in literary text, including how language creates imagery, establishes mood and tone, evokes a sense of time and place, and advances the author’s theme or purpose.

For the rest of class I continued researching my topic on the new Uniforms MPS students are going to have to wear for the 2017-2018 school year and I also began to design my info-graphic.

Use of school uniforms in the U.S. started in the early 1900’s for parochial and private schools, but it wasn’t until the 1980s that public schools began to use uniforms. Schools in Maryland and Washington D.C. were the first to implement uniform policies, although they were voluntary, according to ProCon.org. School officials at this time noticed changes in the students’ attitudes as well as a decline of disciplinary issues after the uniform policy was introduced. This led a few other schools to start using uniforms as well.

 

Leave a Reply

