PJ 4/19/2017

First 10 minutes of skills practice:

For the first 10 minutes of skills practice I continued learning about how to find important information in given text. Whether it is a story, article, or anything related. The topic that compass learning gave me was based on the campaign for “Make a Difference Day.” I was able to answer some questions where I had to use what I learned from the text and what I found was relevant to what the question was asking.

Next 10 minutes of skills practice:

For the next 10 minutes of skills practice I was able to finish the first activity (as previously mentioned) with easy understanding of what I was suppose to take from the activity.

Skills practice time (30 min.):

During my practice time I was able to learn about expository text and how there are different ways to give information to the public. Such as in the forms of essays, public service announcements, and news articles. This was helpful to my project #3 because for my project, I will be expressing what the truly important parts of my book are and how my characters shaped those events featured in the form of a profile. This profile will be including quotes from the book and different traits I believe the characters have based on how they spoke and acted throughout the story.

Standards:

  1. Provide a sufficiently complex summary to address key plot points and thematic development.
  2. Analyze the cumulative impact of specific word choices and figurative language figurative language in literary text, including how language creates imagery, establishes mood and tone, evokes a sense of time and place, and advances the author’s theme or purpose.

Application time: This is what I did⇓⇓

My book: The Last Time We Say Goodbye By: Cynthia Hand

  • New York Times bestselling author
  • Originally published 2015

Description of  book: 

THERE’S DEATH ALL AROUND US. WE JUST DON’T PAY ATTENTION. UNTIL WE DO

Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away. But memories of Tyler haunt her every step, and there’s a secret she hadn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything. Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep her from moving on. 

From the back of the book

Review:

“A quietly powerful, emotionally complex novel that will echo with readers long after it is finished. Both shatteringly painful and bright with life and hope.”

-ALA Booklist (starred reviewed)

During my application time I was able to do a little research on the book I will begin to read for this project. Figuring out when it was published, who wrote it, what it is about, and a review that really emphasizes how great I can expect the book to be.

Leave a Reply

