PJ 5/9/17

First 10 minutes of skills practice

For the first 10 minutes of skills practice I continued (once again) to learn about the story of Nina, and how cause and effect come in to play in a story. I was also able to learn about symbolism and how symbolism has deeper meaning to a text and allows the readers to bring their own interpretations to a text (no matter your interpretation, you should be able to support your belief with evidence).

Next 10 minutes of skills practice

For the next 10 minutes of skills practice I practiced learning about denotation and connotation. I was able to learn how to chunk the words (meaning how to break the word apart to understand it better) and when I took the test given, I got 7 out of 10 answers right. All this helped me expand my word consciousness. One meaning is apparently from the brain and one is from the heart.

Brain= denotative

  • Denotative meaning is a word’s exact meaning, the dictionary definition
  • DICTIONARY DEFINITON

Heart= Connotative

  • Connotative meaning is the emotions and feeling that a word creates
  • PERSONAL MEANING

Last 10 minutes of skills practice

For the last 10 minutes of skills practice I continued to practice the meaning of denotative and connotative using the given exercises to help me follow along.

Application time

During application time I continued reading my book and understanding who my characters are. Today I was able to read up to chapter 11,  pg. 118. The book so far has covered who Lex and Ty are, how Ty dies, and how all their friends and family are factors that lead to Ty’s suicide.

Leave a Reply

