PJ 5/11/17

First 10 minutes of skills practice

For the first 10 minutes of skills practice, I was actually with my vocabulary group doing a review for the test we have coming up next class. I did alright… :/ : )

Next 20 minutes of skills practice

For the next 10 minutes of skills practice I learned about author’s writing styles (based off the Story “Mrs.Perez” by Oscar Casares). An author’s style includes figurative language, word choice, and sentence structure. Some author’s even use flashbacks as a style element. I was also able to learn about different element styles.

Diction: Word choice (dialogue, embedded Spanish, etc.)

Imagery: Sensory experiences you get through writer’s words (includes descriptive, figurative language)

Syntax: Sentence structure

Structure: flashbacks (which alter the time sequence and chronology)

Application Time

During application time I finished my vocabulary extra credit sheet and continued to read my book. I was able to make it to Chapter 12, page 135.

 

Leave a Reply

